Thursday, December 19, 2013

Reset SharePoint installation for EP

If your SharePoint gets hosed, or you simply need to redeploy Dynamics AX and start over with a brand-new EP, you will need to "reset" your SharePoint installation.
 
There are two steps to reset SharePoint.  This will destroy all customizations you have made to SharePoint and EP, including custom pages.  It will not delete the physical files you've created, and it will not delete any data in AX.

  • Delete the top-level site collection
    • Under Administrative Tools, select SharePoint Central Administration
    • Click Application Management
    • Click Delete Site Collection
    • Click the Site Collection selection and choose Change Site Collection
    • On the resulting page click the single slash and click OK
    • Click Delete, and accept the prompt
  • Run the SharePoint wizard
    • Under Administrative Tools, select SharePoint Products And Technologies Configuration Wizard
    • Click Next
    • Click Yes
    • Leave the selection at "Yes, overwrite the existing site" or similar and click Next
    • Let the wizard do its thing
    • Your SharePoint should now be reset

If your Windows SharePoint Services silent install is finishing too fast (failing), try installing it interactively. You might find a critical error during step 5 of the deployment configuration wizard stating mainly: "Class not registered". The fix: apply the following permissions to this folders and users:
  • C:\
    • Local Service (Read & Execute, List Folder Contents, Read)
    • Network Service (Modify, Read & Execute, List Folder Contents, Read, Write)
    • WSS_Admin_WPG (Full Control)
  • C:\Windows\Temp
    • Network Service (Full Control)
    • WSS_Admin_WPG (Full Control)
    • WSS_WPG (Read & Execute, List Folder Contents, Read)
Post a Comment